Movies: HJNTIY & Doubt

hesjustnotthatintoyou_0001He’s just not that into you

Even though I thought this film would follow the standard “romantic comedy” structure, I still wanted to see it, first of all because of Jennifer Aniston (if you’ve known me long enough, you know I’m a FRIENDS fan… may it rest in peace) and secondly because of Drew Barrymore. Lastly, well, it was the day before Valentine’s and I really didn’t want to go out with my Valentine and watch Friday the 13th.  I have to say I was impressed.  The topics dealt with in this movie are very real and happen to all of us regardless of sex/orientation. It reminded me of Closer also.  It’s based on a self-help book by the same name, so it used elements of the documentary as transition between the different chapters.  HJNTIY‘s has another booked titled It’s called a breakup ’cause it’s broken, which I’m definately considering.

doubt

Doubt

Starring Merryl Streep and Phillip Seymour Hoffman, of course it had to be on the top of my list.  I must say watching and reading about child-abuse by men of the church makes me uneasy, but it’s one of the best acted and shot films I’ve seen in the last couple of months.  Based on the play by the same director and screenwriter, its forte is the acting for the stage but on the silver screen. Of course, not many films pull this off, except of course Dogville. Playing now at Fine Arts Cafe (not available at Fine Arts Miramar, sadly)

One thought on “Movies: HJNTIY & Doubt

  1. Noej says:

    Talking about “He’s just not that into you” i love it, is a really nice mirror to look at, because as you say those are situations that can happen to anyone.

    About Doubt I see it to rigid but maybe I’ll give the chance. And yes is sad that is not available on FA Miramar.

Leave a Reply

